Mitochondrial DNA control region diagnostic sites.

Diagnostic sites separating south-east Australian Tursiops australis sp. nov. (Burru) and T. truncatus (CRTT) for mtDNA control region, 418 base sequence. Tursiops australis sp. nov. holotype given as the reference sequence. Twenty-one samples identified eight unique haplotypes, three Tursiops australis sp. nov. and five T. truncatus, defined by 30 variable sites (25 transition substitutions, 5 transversion substitutions and one single based insertion/deletion); with the inclusion of four additional T. australis haplotypes (*) from Charlton et al. (2006). Ten diagnosable fixed site differences were found between the species.